Elections and Government Services Administrative Rules of Montana Business Services Notary and Certification Records and Information Management

December 13, 2012

Contact: Terri McCoy, 406-444-2807

2012 Presidential Electors to Meet Monday at State Capitol;
Montana Electors to Cast Ballots for Presidential Election

HELENA – Secretary of State and Chief Elections Officer Linda McCulloch will preside over the 2012 Electoral College, which will be held on December 17 at 2:00 p.m. in room 303 of the State Capitol Building. The meeting is open to the public, and all interested parties are invited to attend.

The Electoral College meets once every four years. During the meeting, delegates who were chosen by Montanans in the General Election on November 6 will cast their official ballots for President and Vice-President of the United States, MCA 13-25-104.

The three Montana electors are Errol Galt of Martinsdale, Thelma Baker of Missoula and John Brenden of Scobey. The three alternate Montana electors are Sharrie Galt of Martinsdale, Mark Baker of Helena and Carol Brenden of Scobey.

Electors will also be meeting in other states to cast their ballots. The votes of the electors are forwarded to Vice President Joe Biden, who as President of the U.S. Senate will preside over the Joint Session of Congress on January 6, 2013. Congress will then count the votes and the President will be inaugurated on January 21.

Each state is given one elector for each U.S. Senator and U.S. Representative it has. Since Montana has one Representative and two Senators, the state receives three votes in the Electoral College.

There are a total of 538 electors divided up among the fifty states and the District of Columbia. In order to be elected President, a candidate must receive at least 270 electoral votes.

Public Invited to Attend - 2012 Electoral College
2:00 p.m., Room 303, State Capitol Building